Walkies – Training walks with Taz my dog

Time seems to be flying by so quickly at the moment. As the nights are drawing in and winter is approaching I’ve been trying to make the most of the last of our warmer days and getting out for some training walks with my dog Taz. It’s not long until our Hadrian’s Wall walk in May 2017 and my lovely little pooch Taz is thoroughly enjoying me taking her out for all these lovely long walks.

Three years ago I was diagnosed with type 2 diabetes and was told that if I lost weight I could reverse the symptoms. I chose not to go it alone and joined Slimming World. When I was losing weight I did loads of exercise and Taz even used to come running with me. I lost over 9 stone with Slimming World, reversed my diabetes, and have now maintained my weight for over 2 years. Taz loved going for a run and was a great companion meaning that I could be more adventurous in where I was going. We even did a 5k Race for Life together with my local Slimming World Group. Since being diagnosed with Osteoarthritis I had to stop running and have slowly built up my walking again. Getting out for walks with Taz has been a great way to keep the weight off and she loves exploring around my local area.

Having her keeping me company on my training walks means that I can go further and further and my knees are slowly getting stronger. When it is warmer I try to get out early so she doesn’t overheat in the mid-day sun. I must admit she is a bit of a princess and she hates the rain and cold so I’m going to be investing in a coat for her for the winter.

Every night I have to do leg stretches and strengthening exercises for my knees and Taz see’s this as a great time to play. Every evening she brings her balls to me thinking that because Mummy is sitting on the floor it is play time.

14264969_10153786307541611_8594758477476239432_n

Taz won’t be coming with my to Hadrian’s Wall but she is loving every second of my training.

If you would like to support us on our charity walk for Cancer Research UK in honor of my Mum Rosemary who passed away from Ovarian Cancer in March this year please donate via our Just Giving Page. My Mum loved Taz and we quite often went for little strolls when my Mum visited. Taz always snuggled down on Nanna’s lap at the end of the night when she stayed over so every second I spend training with Taz is her little way of helping me honor my Mum.

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

Leave a Reply

