BRCA1 testing at Addenbrooks and Exploring Cambridge

This weekend my Dad and I spent a lovely few days exploring Cambridge as we were there for me to visit Addenbrooks hospital to start the BRCA1 gene testing process.

As Mum had breast Cancer over 10 years ago and then passed away from Ovarian Cancer this year I have been submitted to the Addenbrooks Genetics testing unit. I met with a genetics counsellor to talk through what will happen. I didn’t realise just how lengthy a process it is to test someones blood sample to check for the BRCA1 and BRCA2 gene mutations. It takes two months of testing. It is no wonder they are so thorough when it comes to making sure that I am emotionally ready for this and that I really want to go ahead as it must be quite costly. I also found out that even if they do not find the BRCA1 and BRCA2 gene mutation that they can still keep the blood sample and in 5, 10, 15 years they an re-test for other genetic markers that may have been discovered by then. So this walk seems all the more important to me now. Just think of all those advances in genetic research that could be made, the people who could be diagnosed earlier, if we raise that little bit more to help Cancer Research.

To find out more about Gene testing please visit this Cancer Research BRCA1 Gene testing

My Aunt came along to the appointment with me for emotional support. I was really glad that she was there to support me but also to help give information about our family tree and health history. They go in to so much detail and my brain got a little overwhelmed at times. But I’m going ahead, late October I will have the results of Mums blood sample and then I will be taking a look at what my options are depending on the results.

Whilst we were in Cambridge it was a lovely time to catch up with my Aunt and my Dad and have a walk around this beautiful city. It was so busy but we managed to find some peace in the Botanical Gardens and down by the River Cam.

I think me and Dad clocked up about 7-8 miles per day on average.

We spent the evening in a lovely little restaurant called  Galleria Restaurant, and then went to watch The Tempest performed in St John’s College Gardens. A wonderful end to a difficult day.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

If you can please sponsor us for our walk via our Just Giving page it will all go towards the wonderful work that Cancer Research are doing. I cannot thank you enough for your support in advance.

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

Leave a Reply

